Starting Trends and Breaking Arms

After two time extensions, we have a clear-cut winner of this week’s poll.  I see it has become evident that my general readership truly wants to see me hurt myself.  The top two choices were parkour and unicycling.

Merry Christmas, Mike. Here’s a broken ankle
Happy New Year, Mike. Enjoy the head trauma.

But seriously, I’m very excited to start my journey towards becoming a traceur.  I began doing my research today and plan on spending plenty of hours tomorrow learning break falls and precision jumps.

I don’t really think that I’m going to hurt myself. At least not in a way that will incapacitate me. While perusing http://www.parkour.com, I came across some reassuring information. The site notes that “it is often said that if it isn’t safe, it isn’t parkour.” While this doesn’t instill confidence in me the way a doctor telling me that it’s silly for me to worry about having early on-set Alzheimer’s does, it does at least make me feel like I don’t have to hurt myself to succeed.

Once I feel comfortable with the break falls and precision jumps, I’ll move to some more advanced movements. However, I imagine my successes tomorrow will be minimal. That’s okay, though. I am confident that I will be flipping off of walls in no time.

Check back tomorrow for updates on my progress. I will make sure to let someone know if I’m seriously injured. In the meantime, tell your friends to read my blog and if you haven’t already, read the other entries and check out New Jersey Krumpike as well as The Outer Precipice and Other Desires on Vimeo.

Leave a comment